Welcome to A4C! 
Our goal is to raise money for worth while charitable causes. 
This auction will benefit Cystic Fibrosis Foundation.

wpe2.jpg (92696 bytes)
Click on image

Property
Description

Business
Opportunity

Contact 
Information

Return
to Main


We are accepting bids on the Chateau de Remaisnil from March 3rd to April 21st.

Click on images for a larger image
wpeC.jpg (5895 bytes) wpeD.jpg (17524 bytes)
wpe9.jpg (87408 bytes) wpeD.jpg (98191 bytes) wpe11.jpg (13366 bytes) wpe13.jpg (15472 bytes)

Land & Buildings

The presently-utilised facilities comprise the château, built in 1760, with approximately 3,000 square metres of floor space featuring five reception salons on the ground floor, twelve bedrooms (all with private bathrooms) on the two upper floors. In addition, there is a basement running the entire length of the house, presently utilised only for storage. A 100 metre, tiled underground tunnel connects the château to the converted coach house which contains a reception and other offices, a conference room, a billiard room with an antique billiard table and walk-in fireplace, and, on the upper floor, nine additional bedrooms with private bathrooms. Nearby, are presently unutilised “pigeonnier” and “guard house”. Both the coach house and the guard house have unutilised basements, although there is a small “disco-bar” in the basement of the coach house.  

The existing property comprises 35 acres of grounds of which some 10 acres are devoted to lawns and gardens, including  the original “potager”, which now contains a tennis court, a heated swimming pool, greenhouses, the kitchen garden, and a helicopter landing site. The rest of the grounds, which includes stables and a barn, is park land.

The property, inscribed as a “Monument Historique”,  has always been in private hands; in the XVI century, a medieval château on the site was owned by the Marquis de Mailly. The present château was constructed by the De la Porte family in 1760, and has had several owners since that time, each of whom was able to contribute to it’s maintenance and preservation. The present owners acquired it in 1987 following the death of the previous owner, the renowned English designer, Laura Ashley. Since 1988, it has been run as a small conference centre and “private” hotel, all the while retaining the very special ambiance of an elegant country house.

Condition

The property is renovated and well-maintained; probably in the best condition of almost any château north of Paris. Since 1980, the château roof has been replaced, the stonework cleaned and repointed, new electrical wiring and plumbing installed, and the interior decoration constantly updated. The renowned period decoration, with its notable attention to historical accuracy, has been retained wherever possible, ensuring a warmth and elegance rare in such châteaux. The richly-carved interior moldings, exceptional in quality outside of Paris, in the styles of both the Louis XV and Louis XVI periods, distinguish the salons. The furniture of these periods lends an almost museum quality to these salons.

Location

The property’s site at the edge of a small rural village of only 15 houses and fewer than 40 inhabitants, assures complete tranquillity and offers views over rolling countryside. It is approached via a magnificent 400 metre avenue of 30 metre-tall Linden trees. As there are no commercial activities in the village, the only sounds are those of the birds, horses and sheep on the property itself. Three rural towns, each of 5,000/7,000 inhabitants, are within 15 kms., and the cities of Amiens (140,000 people, the capital of the Region of Picardie), Arras (40,000 people) and Abbeville (25,000 people) are all 35 km away (and all have train services).

For a complete detail of the property and business descriptions contact: SDoull@compuserve.com
Email a Bid!

Auctions4Charity.net receives no compensation for providing
this service to non-profit organizations.